Discount upto 50%

Which SAFe Certification to do after CSM?

  • Scaling Agile
Created on :
February 10, 2023
Saket Bansal
Updated on :
June 27, 2023

If you are working as a Scrum Master and are certified as a CSM, you may be considering obtaining a SAFe certification. The majority of clients who enroll for SAFe certification are typically individuals who have been working as a Scrum Master for a while, have studied Scrum, and now want to scale their agile implementation. If your organization is going for a SAFe implementation, then it is expected that everyone will go through SAFe training and get certified as per their appropriate role in the SAFe organization. This is a natural part of the SAFe implementation roadmap.

If your organization is not yet implementing SAFe, but you are looking for future opportunities and roles, you may be considering obtaining a Leading SAFe (SA) certification. If you are a CSM working in a SAFe environment, it is recommended that you obtain a SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) certification.

If you are a Project Manager and looking to get into the SAFe way of working, the Leading SAFe (SAFe Agilist) certification is a good choice. Let us learn about these two certification content outlines in detail.

Leading SAFe (With SAFe Agilist Certification)

Leading SAFe (SA) program is an introductory course for individuals who are interested in learning about the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe). The program is designed for leaders and managers who are responsible for driving the implementation of SAFe in their organization. The program does not assume any prior knowledge or experience with SAFe, making it ideal for those who are new to the framework.

The program starts with a comprehensive introduction to SAFe and its role in driving business agility. The first topic focuses on the competencies required to achieve business agility and the fundamental principles behind the SAFe framework. The course then delves into the various roles and processes involved in the SAFe framework, starting with the identification of requirements and ending with deployment.

In addition to learning about the execution aspects of SAFe, the program also covers the portfolio governance aspect of the framework, which helps organizations align their strategy with execution. Finally, the program concludes with a discussion on the SAFe Implementation Roadmap, which outlines the steps organizations can take to implement SAFe in their environment.

In Summary, Leading SAFe(SA) program provides a comprehensive introduction to the Scaled Agile Framework for those who are new to the framework. The program covers the business agility competencies, the principles behind SAFe, the various roles and processes involved, and the implementation roadmap. With this understanding, individuals will be equipped to drive the implementation of SAFe in their organization and achieve business agility.

SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM)

SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) is a program designed for those who are working as Scrum Masters and aim to enhance their skills and competencies in the role. The program focuses on the role of the Scrum Master within the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe) and provides an in-depth understanding of SAFe principles from the perspective of a Scrum Master.

The program begins with an introduction to SAFe, followed by a deep dive into the SAFe principles and how they are implemented in various pieces of work. It also covers desired practices and undesired practices or anti-patterns that may arise in Scrum. The idea behind discussing anti-patterns is to help Scrum Masters facilitate their team’s advancement towards high performance.

The SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) program also delves into the details of Program Increment (PI) execution. It emphasizes the importance of the Scrum Master’s role in supporting the PI planning process and ensuring the team’s progress towards the PI objectives. It covers conducting internal events within the Scrum team and making the best use of Agile Release Train events such as Scrum of Scrums.

The program also touches upon the key concepts of Kanban and Extreme Programming practices at the team level. It focuses on the importance of work in progress limits and how to ensure the flow of work at the team level. It also emphasizes the importance of creating a high-performing team through various qualitative and quantitative aspects, such as retrospectives and clear, transparent feedback loops.

In SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM), you will not only advance your Scrum skills within the SAFe context but also prepare for the next role of a facilitator, the Agile Release Train Engineer. The program covers the topics that are essential for the improvement of the program level events such as Inspect and Adapt.

In summary, SAFe Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) is a comprehensive program that provides a deep understanding of the role of a Scrum Master within the SAFe framework. The program covers the key concepts, practices, and skills necessary to excel in the role and elevate your career as a Scrum Master.

In conclusion, if you are a Scrum Master or Project Manager, obtaining a SAFe certification can enhance your career opportunities and demonstrate your understanding of working in a SAFe environment. The specific certification you choose will depend on your current role, your organization’s adoption of SAFe, and your future career goals.

Name Date Place
SAFe Certification and Training 29 & 30 June 2024 Chennai More Details
SAFe Certification and Training 10 & 11 August 2024 India More Details

Related Posts

Understanding Epic in Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe): A Comprehensive Guide

SAFe (Scaled Agile Framework) is a framework used for delivering enterprise-level software applications and systems. ...

February 7, 2023
Saket Bansal

Seven Essential SAFe® Elements

What is SAFe® Before understanding the Seven Essential SAFe Elements, it is crucial to know ...

November 6, 2021
Saket Bansal

What Is The Difference Between Scrum And SAFe?

Scrum and Scaled Agile Framework, have gained popularity in the current era. Both of them ...

July 31, 2020