How Can We Help?

Search for answers or browse our knowledge base.

< All Topics

How many attempts are there for PMP?

The PMP application submission is a crucial step in your journey to becoming a certified Project Management Professional. Once PMI approves your application, you have a one-year eligibility period during which you can attempt the PMP exam up to three times. As many candidates do not pass on their first try, it’s essential to plan your application submission and exam preparation carefully to allow for potential retakes if needed. For example, if your PMP application is approved 10 months in advance and you don’t pass on your first attempt, you only have 2 months and 2 attempts left to retake the exam using the retake fee. If you don’t manage to pass within that time, you’ll need to start the process again, meaning a new PMP application and full exam fee.

Note that the exam fee and reexamination fees are separate, with reexamination fees applying to the second and third attempts within the eligibility period. If you fail to pass the exam after three attempts, you’ll have to wait a full year from the date of your last attempt before you can reapply for the PMP certification.

Keep in mind that if your eligibility period expires without a successful exam result, you must begin the certification process from scratch. Therefore, it’s crucial to strategize your exam preparation to maximize your chances of success within the one-year eligibility period!

We have successful PMP Preparation program to ensure you pass your PMP Exam in first attempt.

Table of Contents