How Can We Help?

Search for answers or browse our knowledge base.

< All Topics

How long is the PMP Certification valid?

Upon passing the PMP (Project Management Professional) exam, your certification remains valid for a period of three years. In order to maintain your PMP certification, you must accumulate and report 60 Professional Development Units (PDUs) during this three-year cycle. PDUs earned post-certification are considered.

You can earn PDUs through a variety of activities, such as:

  1. Education: Engage in project management-focused training courses, webinars, workshops, or conferences.
  2. Giving back to the profession: Contribute your knowledge and expertise via mentoring, teaching, content creation, or volunteering at PMI-related events.
  3. Organizational Meetings: Participate in events or meetings that feature an educational component related to project management.

For more information on earning PDUs, explore our comprehensive blog outlining various free methods.

After obtaining the necessary 60 PDUs, report them to PMI and initiate the certification renewal process by paying the associated fee. Successfully completing the renewal ensures your PMP certification remains active for an additional three years. To maintain your certification and stay up-to-date with the latest project management trends and best practices, it is crucial to participate consistently in professional development activities.

Table of Contents